Maginhawa Food Trip 

I’ve seen endless posts and heard endless conversations of people going on about Maginhawa. I even heard people talking about Maginhawa Festival but I never knew why. I was was incredibly curious and it made me want to go there so bad. My dormates and I would make plans to go there but it would always be cancelled. I would always be disappointed as I would be left with imaginations and curiousity. 

Last night out of the blue my friend and I decided to go to Maginhawa for dessert. We had dinner around 8pm in UST and we were originally planning on going to the movies. However we changed our minds and were craving for dessert after having pasta for dinner. 

We got to Maginhawa after 8pm and went straight to The Nook, however there was a waiting list. After listing down our names we decided to try something else.

Our first stop was Papa Diddy’s. There were cute names for ice cream flavours, not using the ordinary names like chocolate or vanilla etc. We tried their besteller cookies and cream and dulce gato. 

Two cups of ice cream with cone (₱75)

The ice cream was so creamy and full of flavour. I really enjoyed it, for me the perfect ice cream is when it is creamy, thick not too sweet but full of flavour. I also loved how they put the cone in the tub, that way we can either dip the cone into the ice cream or crush it. 

After this we decided to go to a place suggested by Rappler called the Breakfast Bin. 

http://www.rappler.com/life-and-style/best-eats/71727-maginhawa-food-festival-quezon-city-diamond-jubilee-restaurants

Seeing as it was already 8pm I was thinking they must have pancakes or waffles so we could have more dessert and I was right. They had a variety of pancakes and waffles with different toppings. We went for waffles with cookies. The waffles were sadly overcooked but it tasted great with the cream on top and the syrup. The syrup was served seperately so you can add it to taste. The cookies were not so great, but it wasn’t sweet, all in all it was just right. 

 

Narrow , simple and cute place
  
2 stack waffles (₱85.00) plus extra (₱ 10.00) for Cookie Pieces

Our third and final place that we went to was The Nook. I’ve never heard of this before, I didn’t even hear about any reviews. My friend gave me a map with pictures showing the different eating places in Maginhawa and she made me choose. I picked the one with a picture of a pint of beer. I originally thought that there would be flavoured beers. When we got there there was a sign for butter beer. This was okay for me as I’ve tried butter beer back in England in The Harry Potter’s Studio. I was excited to see what it would taste like, I was even amazed that they had it here. The cafe was a Harry Potter themed cafe. They served butter beer pasta, other drinks and foods. They even had board games, a wand, the quidich ball, a replica of the stairs Harry Potter lived under and much more! 

Upstairs you would take off your shoes as there were pillows on the floor and a library to the side. It looked perfect for a chill kind of hangout. 

   
    

Butter Beer, regular (₱100) and Goya-zilla (₱75.00)
   
 

3 Replies to “Maginhawa Food Trip ”

Leave a Reply

